Best Bluetooth Neckband Headphones Review 2017

A Round-up of the best behind the neck headphones of 2017 - (updated October 2017)

Our list of the best Bluetooth Neckband Headphones of 2017

A selection of the best Bluetooth Neckband headphones. Featuring apt-X Bluetooth codecs for CD-quality wireless streaming for the best possible audio experience. Bluetooth Neckband Headphones are ideal for fitness training, sports and gym workouts.

Our list features the best premium Bluetooth Neckband headphones along with more affordable options to suit your budget. All the Neckband headphones listed offer high-quality sound, hands-free calling, and impressive batteries.

Top 5 Bluetooth Neckband Headphones – Shortlist

Scroll down further for more details on each of the headphone models and if these Neckband Headphones are a little over your budget, click here to see our list of more affordable options.
Headphone Model Listening Time Talk Time Charging Latest Price*
Bose QC 30 10 Hours 10 Hours 3 Hours $299.99 view
BeatsX Earphones 8 Hours 8 Hours 5 Mins for 2 Hours $149.99 $82.00 view
LG Tone HBS 910 10.5 Hours 16 Hours 2 Hours 149.99 $68.53 view
SOL REPUBLIC Shadow 8 Hours 10 Hours 2 Hours $99.99 $69.99 view
LG Tone HBS 900 14 Hours 17 Hours 2 Hours $79.00 view
*Price last updated on the 17th of October 2017 at 09:20 GMT
details »

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com or Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Bose QuietControl 30 Neckband Headphones

The best Bluetooth Neckband headphones - Bose Quiet Control 30 Wireless Headphones

The Bose Quiet Control 30’s are currently the most expensive Bluetooth Neckband headphones on the market. They offer the best sound quality of any around-the-neck style headphones and industry-leading ANC technology – more.

Headphone Model Listening Time Talk Time Charging Latest Price*
Bose Quiet Control 30
10 Hours 10 Hours 3 Hours $299.99 view
*Price last updated on the 17th of October 2017 at 09:20 GMT
details »

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com or Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

BeatsX Bluetooth Neckband Headphones

BeatsX Bluetooth Neckband Headphones

The BeatsX neckband headphones feature fast-fuel charging technology with 5 minutes charge giving you 2 hours of playtime. They’re very lightweight, water-resistant, and the flexible neckband makes them easy to store. – more.

Headphone Model Listening Time Talk Time Charging Latest Price*
BeatsX
8 Hours 8 Hours 5mins for 2 hours $149.99 $82.00 view
*Price last updated on the 17th of October 2017 at 09:20 GMT
details »

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com or Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

LG Tone Bluetooth Neckband Headphones (HBS-910)

The LG-Tone 910 Neckband headphones - around the neck style bluetooth headphones

The new LG Tone 910 neckband headphones have a totally new look over their previous models. They feature new quad level speaker technology and dual MEMS microphones for improved voice clarity. – more

Headphone Model Listening Time Talk Time Charging Latest Price*
LG Tone HBS 910 10.5 Hours 16 Hours 2 Hours 149.99 $68.53 view
*Price last updated on the 17th of October 2017 at 09:20 GMT
details »

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com or Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

SOL REPUBLIC Bluetooth neckband headphones

The Shadow bluetooth neckband headphones by SOL REPUBLIC

The SOL REPUBLIC shadow behind the neck headphones have an exceptionally light biomorphic neckband. They offer a bass rich, high-end audio quality with apt-X Bluetooth. Featuring dual connectivity to keep your phone paired while connected to another device. – more

Headphone Model Listening Time Talk Time Charging Latest Price*
SOL REPUBLIC Shadow 8 Hours 10 Hours 2 Hours $99.99 $69.99 view
*Price last updated on the 17th of October 2017 at 09:20 GMT
details »

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com or Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

LG Tone Infinim Bluetooth neckband headphones (HBS 900)

best neckband headphones - The LG TOne HBS 900 bluetooth neckband headphones

The LG Tone Infinim has improved listening and talk time, Harman Kardon signature audio with apt-X and retractable headphone cables. These neckband headphones offer crystal clear hands free calls with HD and MEMS voice call technology. – more

Headphone Model Listening Time Talk Time Charging Latest Price*
LG Tone HBS 900 14 Hours 17 Hours 2 Hours $79.00 view
*Price last updated on the 17th of October 2017 at 09:20 GMT
details »

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com or Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Best Bluetooth Neckband Headphones on a budget

Tronsmart S4 Active Noise Cancelling Neckband Headphones

The best bluetooth neckband headphones on a budget

The Tronsmart S4’s are my favourite affordable Bluetooth Neckband Headphones. They feature Active Noise Cancelling technology and the CSR chipset.  If you travel on public transport or work in noisy environments these will make a big difference compared to regular earphones with just passive noise reduction. They’re comfortable to wear, have a huge battery life and the ANC works really well. – Read our full review

Headphone Model Listening Time Talk Time Charging Latest Price*
S4 ANC Headphones
15 Hours 20 Hours 2.5 Hours $66.99 $48.99* view
*Price last updated on the 17th of October 2017 at 09:20 GMT
details »

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com or Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

LG Tone Bluetooth neckband headphones (HBS-760)

The LG Tone is the grand-daddy of this style of in-ear bluetooth neckband headphones. With CD quality bluetooth apt-x audio, and a ton of features including real time text message reading.

What sets the LG Tone apart from other Bluetooth Neckband Headphones is the included software/apps which make them as good for business use as they are for enjoying music.

The LG Tone neckband headphones - behind the neck headphones

Buy Online

Price last updated on the 17th of October 2017 at 09:20 GMT
details »

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com or Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Sony SBH70 Bluetooth neckband headphones

The Sony SBH70 bluetooth neckband headphones have the latest apt-X for high quality audio and very impressive HD Voice technology for hands free calls.

These Bluetooth Neckband Headphones are great for taking long calls. They feature echo, wind and noise cancellation, voice commands and a smartphone app to alter settings and check the battery status.

The Sony SBH70 neckband headphones with apy-x audio and HD voice technology for hands free calls

Buy Online

Price last updated on the 17th of October 2017 at 09:20 GMT
details »

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com or Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Plantronics BackBeat Fit bluetooth neckband headphones

The Plantronics BackBeat Fit Bluetooth neckband headphones are ideal for athletics and outdoor sports. Highly water resistant, extremely light and comfortable to wear over long periods.

The BackBeat Fit neckband headphones are very flexible and can be folded up and stored in your pocket. They also come with a handy battery status app which will also update the headphone’s firmware wirelessly.

The Plantronics BackBeat Fit waterproof bluetooth neckband sports headphones

Buy Online

Price last updated on the 17th of October 2017 at 09:20 GMT
details »

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com or Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

66 Audio BTS+ bluetooth neckband headphones

The 66 Audio bluetooth neckband headphones fit over the ear with comfortable cushioned pads.  Featuring the latest bluetooth 4.0 and apt-X, the BTS+ offers very impressive audio as well multipoint connections and CVC noise cancellation technology.

The battery life on these neckband headphones is the best I’ve found, with a continuous playback of over 30 hours and a standby time of 500!

The 66 Audio BTS over-ear wireless behind the neck headphones

Buy Online

Price last updated on the 17th of October 2017 at 09:20 GMT
details »

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com or Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Kinivo BTH240 bluetooth neckband headphones

The Kinivo BTH240 bluetooth neckband headphones are the upgraded and redesigned version of the popular Kinivo BTH220 model.

They are very lightweight at only 73g and connect via Bluetooth or A2DP. The audio quality  is far better than you would expect from a set of Bluetooth neckband headphones with such a low price tag.

The Kinivo bluetooth neckband headphones ideal for the gym

Buy Online

Price last updated on the 17th of October 2017 at 09:20 GMT
details »

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com or Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Avantree NB02 Foldable Bluetooth In Ear Neckband Headphones

The Avantree Bluetooth neckband headphones have an impressive 10 hours of music playback and 300 hours of standby time. They feature multipoint pairing and a vibration call alert.

These around the neck headphones feature apt-X codecs for high quality audio performance. The ends are magnetised making them ideal for resistance training using a bench.

Avantree Around the neck headphones

Buy Online

Price last updated on the 17th of October 2017 at 09:20 GMT
details »

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com or Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

GRDE HV-900 bluetooth neckband headphones

The HV-900 bluetooth neckband headphones are a good choice for those who like the design of the LG Tone+ but are looking for a more affordable option.

These HV-900 bluetooth headphones feature bluetooth 4.0, apt-X and 3 variable equalizer settings – scroll down for our full review.

The GRDE HV-900 bluetooth neckband headphones

Buy Online

Price last updated on the 17th of October 2017 at 09:20 GMT
details »

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com or Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

GRDE HV-900 Bluetooth Neckband Headphones – Full Review

The HV-900 bluetooth sports neckband headphones

GRDE HV-900 Wireless Stereo Headset

Economical bluetooth neckband headphones with aptX and bluetooth 4.0.

Ideal for listening to music during sports activities or as a feature-rich Bluetooth headset to free up your hands when taking a call on your phone.

Features

  • Bluetooth 4.0 with aptX / 10m range.
  • Battery – 7 hours music / 6 hours talk.
  • Vibrating call alert.
  • Audible notifications.
  • Connect 2 devices simultaneously.
  • Includes 2 additional sets of earbuds.
  • Micro USB charging cable -more

HV-900 bluetooth neckband headphones offer a much more affordable option for anyone considering buying an LG Tone headset.  At half of price, yet with almost the same features the HV-900 by GRDE offers a decent alternative for anyone on a budget.

HV-900 Bluetooth Neckband headphones – Design
As previously mentioned, they look a hell of a lot like the LG Tone in their design. Shaped to sit comfortably around the neck, with control buttons positioned on the arms and magnetic ends to easily retain the earbuds when not in use. The length of the cables can be adjusted by sliding a sleeve around the neckband to allow just enough slack to fully turn your head.

With this being the first time I’ve used a neckband style set of Bluetooth headphones, I was unsure how I would get on with them. However, after wearing these during the last few days I have to say the design is extremely clever.  There are some really functional benefits when using these compared to regular headphones or Bluetooth earbuds.

The bluetooth neckband headphones designed to fit comfortably around the neck

I usually favour earbuds as opposed to headphones, especially in the gym.  Regular earphones are forever getting tangled or yanked out when the cable snags on something.  These HV-900’s with their neckband design are practically impossible to tangle and as the Bluetooth functionality is retained in the arms rather than the earbuds they’re lightweight and held snugly without any chance of shaking loose.

When compared to Bluetooth over-ear headphones, these are much lighter, don’t mess your hair up or leave your ears aching from the pressure required to retain a set of regular headphones.

There is a slight learning curve required to locate and remember the controls, but once you have used them for a while, it soon becomes like second nature.

Close up view of the HV-900 bluetooth neckband heaphones

There were a couple of small issues worth mentioning with regards to the build quality of the HV-900. The protective cover over the USB recharging port felt a little fragile with the potential to weaken over time and the strength of the magnetic earbud retainers could be a tad stronger.  I don’t think either issue is a deal breaker especially considering the price tag, however, I would certainly treat the USB port and cover gently when recharging the device.

HV-900 Bluetooth Neckband Headphones – Functions

When listening to music.

  • Pause / Play or Stop button (when held for 1 second)
  • Next / Previous Song buttons – which can be also forward and rewind when held.
  • Volume up and down
  • Equaliser – holding the volume up and down buttons together during playback will cycle through audio modes to boost either the bass or treble.

When using the headset for calls.

  • Making a call – hold the call button for a second to redial the last number, or press it briefly to activate your phone’s voice command menu.
  • Receiving a call – When the phone rings you can press briefly to answer a call, hold for a second to reject the call and tap the button to end the call.
  • Call waiting – hold the button for one second during a call.
  • Mute Mic – Press both volume buttons for one second to mute/un-mute microphone.
HV-900 Bluetooth Neckband Headphones – Performance.

Audio quality – I was pleasantly surprised by the sound quality of the audio. Whenever I test in-ear headphones, I always compare them to a set of Sennheiser CX 200 earphones I own. They don’t sound that dissimilar and considering these are streaming via Bluetooth, that’s pretty damn impressive.

Battery life – I got around the 7 hours of playback time, at an average volume. I can’t really confirm the talk time,  It would probably take me a month to stack up the 6 hours.  As the playback time was fairly accurate, I’m guessing this will be too.

Headset Use – Very impressed, there are plenty of call features and the audio quality from the mic was spot on.  This may have a lot to do with the neckband headphone design, as it places the microphone just where it needs to be.

Bluetooth quality and Range-  With the latest Bluetooth 4.0 and apt-X the signal was strong and clear.  I experienced no skipping or delays when the phone was close by and managed to easily achieve the 10m range before the audio dropped out.

Buy Online

Price last updated on the 17th of October 2017 at 09:20 GMT
details »

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com or Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Alternatives to Bluetooth Neckband Headphones

Bluetooth Neckband headphones typically offer a longer battery life and features due to the additional internal space for components compared to a regular set of wireless earphones.  If you don’t like the design of the neckband style, then take a look at our list of the best wireless earphones of 2016.

If you enjoyed this review or found it useful, please leave a comment below, or share it socially – Thanks

48 COMMENTS

  1. I looked at your list of the best Bluetooth neckband headphones, and I can understand why the Bose neckband headphones are top, but in my opinion they are way to expensive. The LG Tone Infinim 910’s in my opinion are the best, especially if you’re not interested in active noise cancelling.

  2. Ouch! £260 for a set of Bluetooth neckband headphones? I mean I know Bose are a decent brand, but surely that’s pushing the limits

  3. Are there any neckband headphones with Bluetooth 5? I’ve just ordered a galaxy S8 and id like to buy a set of Bluetooth neckband headphones that have version 5 or 5.1 bluetooth. Thanks

  4. I’m trying to decide which neckband Bluetooth headphones would be best for kayaking, are there any that are totally waterproof? Thanks

    • Hi Beth, There is a set of fully waterproof neckband headphones made by Pyle, here is a link they are IPX8 rated, so they should be fine for your needs. They aren’t Bluetooth however but they do have 4GB of storage built in. Bluetooth would likely fail underwater, I guess that’s a reason why they don’t make fully water bluetooth neckband headphones.

  5. The Samsung Level U Bluetooth neckband headphones deserve to be on this list, I’d rate them second to the LG tone’s

      • Hi guys used this samsung level u headset for seven months. The first one the neck band broke with normal use. The second one broke at the exact spot even though I was more careful. Samsung have offered me a refund.

  6. Are there any options that stick out in terms of call quality? My primary use case is making/receiving phone calls, but it’s hard to tell which of these have the best quality. I’ve had my LG Tone for a long time now and peopel are starting to complain that I sound tinny and it handles the wind on my walk to work really poorly.

    • Hi Fred, If you’re not too concerned about listening to music, it might be worth consider something like the Plantronics Voyager Legend UC – Link The tech on the microphone is pretty amazing. It has triple mics and Windsmart technology which is supposed to be extremely effective. Here is a link to the product website – Hope that helps.

      • Thanks so much Simon. I actually already own a voyager legend, and the call quality is indeed good, but I just far prefer the neckband design. Do you have any recommendations for good call quality for a neckband design?

        • You’re welcome, To be honest I’d have placed the LG Tone as one of the better options for hand-free, most of the others are more geared towards fitness and audio playback quality. I think one of the factors is the increased distance from the mouth to the microphone on neckband headphones. With a product like the Voyager the short distance to the boom really helps improve the quality. The Sol Republic Shadow is a good quality product, but I fear you won’t see much in the way of improved vocals over the Tone. Good luck Fred, and if I come across a model that has a real noticeable improvement over the Tone, I’ll email you with a heads-up.

  7. I have bought 2 pairs of the LG Infinim so far. 1st pair rattled loudly when turning on or off and wouldn’t hold a charge. Seller refunded. Bought another set from totally different source. The 2nd pair people can’t understand me when using them. So now I’m not sure which ones to try. Had my Lg tones for a long time. Seriously disappointed in the infinim!!

  8. I’m an LG Tone fan-boy. Been through a few pairs over the last 6 or 7 years. I’m sure bluetooth neckband headphones are not to everyone’s taste, but I love em!

    • Me too, I’ve been testing out some alternative to around the neck style headphones, ones that have no wires at all. Even though they are more expensive, I much prefer the Bluetooth Neckband headphones, they are impossible to lose and the earbuds are lighter and more comfortable.

  9. Hi I purchased these for gym use, as according to the information on Amazon they are sweat-proof and splash-proof, after just 1 session at the gym they just started to vibrate constantly and wouldn’t even switch off, Amazon did a refund and the seller sent me a replacement set, guess what again after 1 gym session the same issue constant vibration and wouldn’t switch off, looking at the construction of these, the covers simply clip in place and there is no way they can be sweat-proof or splash-proof.
    For general use I would say they are excellent value, but I would not recommend them for gym use, especially if you sweat a lot during your workout.

  10. I’m definitely a neckband headphones convert, It’s so much better with behind the neck headphones for running. There’s loads of noise generated from the wire with regular earbuds, but with Bluetooth neckband headphones, it’s totally gone!

  11. My wife and I just purchased 2 hv-900 headsets and received them today and we charged them for 10 hrs and paired it to our cell phones and it connects to the blue tooth
    Fine. But every couple of minutes it tells us disconnected then a min or two later it connects. And it does this constantly. And also after we charged it for 10 hours it told us both that we had medium battery. So far the product isn’t meeting our expectations. Thanks

    • Hi Jason, sorry to hear that, the HV-900 should only need 2 hours to charge, have you tried keeping one switched off and seeing if the other one still drops it’s connection? My HV-900 worked flawlessly, I’m wondering if having 2 identical headsets in close proximity my be causing the problem? If that doesn’t work, I’d test them at least 10m from potential interference, it may be that there is device in or near your home causing it. If so, I’d return them, hope that helps.

  12. I always thought the LG tone Infinim were the best neckband headphones until I got a pair of the Sony SBH70’s (4th on your list) I can’t compare them directly to the LG Tone (I lost my last pair) they are more comfortable around the neck and I think they sound better than the LG Tones

    • Hi Kay, thanks for the comment, I agree, the Sony SBH70’s bluetooth neckband headphones do sound as good as the LG Tone Infinim and look my stylish too, their only let down is the battery life. The LG Tones last for 14 hours, the Sony SBH70’s won’t last much beyond 6 hours.

  13. I’ve only recently started wearing bluetooth neckband headphones during training, always just used wired earbuds. They are so much better for running, doubt I’ll ever go back 🙂

    • Hi Jane, I probably have about a dozen sets of headphones from reviews I have done and ones I have bought, out of those I use about 3 pairs. When I’m jogging or doing cardio I always take behind the neck headphones, unless the batteries dead of course. Thanks for the comment,.

  14. I’ve used an LG Tone 730 neckband headphones for years, mostly at work, I’m not that into fitness to be honest. I just treated myself to the LG Tone Infinim, I really like the retractable cables and there is definitely an improvement in sound quality, worth paying the extra for IMHO.

    • Thanks for leaving a comment, The LG Infinim Bluetooth around the neck headphones are definitely an improved product, I also prefer the additional colour options that come with them over the 730’s.

  15. Thanks for the list, I bought the Sony SBH70 neckband headphones for my bf, he was really happy with them. I’m a little jealous tbh!

    • Hi Bella, Thanks for leaving a comment, I think the Sony SBH70 bluetooth neckband headphones and the SOL Republic Shadows behind the neck headphones look the best in terms of design, they both sound amazing too.

  16. Hi, I’m torn between choosing either bluetooth neckband headphones or neckband earphones, eg ones that go over the ears like the MM100 Sennheiser neckband headhpones, or the LG tone style with in-ear buds. I need them mostly for running, which of the 2 different styles would be best suited? – ta

    • Thanks for leaving a comment, I have both types and I have run with them both on many occasions. If I had to decide which type of neckband headphones I’d use for running it would largely be down to the weather. If it’s a hot day, in-ear bluetooth headphones are my preferred choice as you sweat less than if your ears are covered. They would also be my choice for wet weather training too. On a cool dry breezy day, it might be better to run in regular bluetooth headphones.

  17. I just ordered a pair, and I’m reading up on reviews. So far, this is the most detailed one I could find. Thanks for taking your time to do this because it really helps!

    • Hi Claire, Thanks for leaving a comment, also if you have earphones with tight fitting foam inserts and a cable dangling all the way down to your phone of MP3 player, I find there is a noise that travels up to the ears as it bounces and rubs against your clothes.

  18. I’m not usually a fan of over ear headphones, I actual prefer earphones, they are more discreet. The 66 Audio bluetooth neckband headphones are very tempting though, 30 hours battery life??? that’s got to be some sort of record?

    • It’s the best battery life I’ve seen so far on a set of bluetooth neckband headphones, any bluetooth headphones actually. I know what you mean though, I also prefer earphones for the gym, headphones for home use.

  19. I was looking to buy the Sol Republic shadow neckband headphones, I’m in the UK and have been struggling to find anyway that sells them, even their own website only seems to ship to US and Canada addresses. Is my only option to buy from Amazon.com and pay for overseas shipping and import duty?

    • Hi Greg, I believe so, I will keep looking for a UK source, I’ve had no luck so far, Please let me know if you managed to get a set and where from, Cheers.

      UPDATE: Hi again, after some more searching, I did find a UK source – Link It’s a site called Freemans.com I don’t have any experience ordering from them, but it might be worth looking in to – Hope that helps 🙂

  20. Got a set of Tronsmart Bluetooth Neckband Headphones, the Encore S2’s – they are really good all rounders, totally worth considering for this list.

  21. I grabbed a pair of these HV-900 bluetooth neckband headphones, not expecting much for under 15quid, but they are fab. They are a little light on bass, but not enough to be a problem.

LEAVE A REPLY